Need a little pick-me-up?

It’s that time of year when the sun goes away for longer periods of time, the weather gets colder, and more time is spent indoors.

This is the time of year when many people experience symptoms of depression and anxiety. Seasonal Affective Disorder – also known as S.A.D. – “… is a type of depression that’s related to changes in seasons β€” SAD begins and ends at about the same times every year. If you’re like most people with SAD, your symptoms start in the fall and continue into the winter months, sapping your energy and making you feel moody.” – MayoClinic

If you’re like me, and you start to feel kind of down and lethargic around this time of year – even if you love Fall and Winter! – then you might benefit from some of the things I’ve found to help lift the mood during these gloomy months.

176508131367c
The Verilux HappyLight – Bed Bath & Beyond

They call this an “alternative to sunshine” as it produces the same Vitamin D-rich light that you get from the sun during the Summer. “Some studies suggest an association between low vitamin D levels in the blood and various mood disorders, including depression, seasonal affective disorder (SAD), and premenstrual syndrome (PMS).” – MayoClinic
When I was seeing my therapist for Depression and Anxiety a few years ago, one of the first things he told me was to make sure to get as much Vitamin D as possible. How easy is it to just turn on this lamp either instead of, or along with, the lights you use in your home every day. I keep mine on the table next to my couch so I can have it on as I watch TV or, like right now, as I blog and browse online. πŸ™‚

ST_3D_Web

Sleepytime Herbal Tea – Celestial Seasonings

I don’t know about you, but I have the *worst* time trying to fall asleep some nights. It’s like my brain won’t turn off and all the crummy thoughts that weigh down your head and your heart start to creep in as I’m lying there on my pillow. Getting a good night’s sleep is so very important for both your mental and physical health, and this tea has been a wonderful aid for me to get just that. I have a Keurig, so I just pop in one of the little pods and have myself a nice warm cup of tea about a half-hour or so before bedtime. Obviously, I’m not too familiar with the science behind herbal teas, but I know that this has done wonders to help calm me and give me restful nights.

pBBW1-10388186v275

Eucalyptus Spearmint Sugar Scrub – Bath & Body Works

I could post about anything from the BBW Stress Relief line, really, but this sugar scrub has been a staple of mine for over a year now. The Eucalyptus Spearmint scent is just delightful, and using this scrub in the bath is so relaxing and therapeutic. It exfoliates very nicely, but my favorite part is that the moisturizing oils in the scrub leave your skin feeling so silky and smooth. You don’t even need to put on lotion after you get out, even though you certainly could. Getting into a calming, warm bath is great for stress and depression, but this just adds a bit of luxury that keeps you feeling nice long after the bath. I also highly recommend the candle and body wash from this line as the scent is truly calming and helpful for those down days.

I hope these items help out if you’re needing a bit of a pick-me-up, or if you just want to add a bit of pampering to your routine. If this is something you’d like to see more of, I will gladly post about more things I use to help perk me up a bit. Just let me know. Thank you again so much for reading.

Until next time. ❀

Leave a Reply

