Here’s to another year

Well, here we are. I’ve been back home in Texas for a little over a week now and it has been so relaxing. It’s been really nice to spend time with family that I usually only get to see once a year.

Christmas came and went way too quickly, but I notice that I really don’t mind it that much. I enjoy my family time and celebrating, but I was looking forward to just having a few chill days where I can just clear my head and recover.

That’s the one thing I am bad about when it comes to my depression and anxiety – giving myself enough time to heal. I usually just tell myself to suck it up and get over it, but it really just doesn’t work that way. It’s still really hard to fight through the overwhelming sadness on a daily basis, but I am making sure to take time to relax and rest, which is helping. At least, I think it is.Too bad there’s not just a “How-To” on this kind of stuff, but I hope I will grow and learn from it all in the end. That’s what is really keeping me going.

Now, I just need to work on eating better and working out. Being here in the south, everyone is always trying to feed you and if it’s not fried, then it’s covered in butter or sugar. Don’t get me wrong – I *LOVE* it – but, it’s just not healthy to live on. Cutting out soda is going to be the hardest thing for me, I think. Dr. Pepper flows like water here and I’ve found myself going from one every couple of days, to multiple a day. It’s bad, and I can tell it’s affecting my health and energy.

So, here’s to a 2015 in which I take care of myself and don’t let my own mental illness control me. A 2015 in which I take big, scary steps to be happy and start a life for myself. A 2015 that I can look back on at the end and truly say that it was a happy year.

Until next time! ❀

P.S. Here’s a little preview of a post I’d like to do about what I got for Christmas. SO mnay great books this year!

Leave a Reply

