My go-to rainy-day ponytail

Photo on 2-5-15 at 11.16 AM

Today’s post is going to be super simple and quick. It’s currently raining like mad here in Florida and my hair *hates* humidity. I’m going to walk you through a really easy ponytail that I do when my hair is already straightened, but I just need to get it up and out of the way.

This works great on day-old hair, so feel free to dry shampoo your scalp to get a little bit of texture. Like I said, my hair hates humidity and gets really frizzy, so I find that straightening it helps it be a bit more manageable.

All I use is one ponytail older and two bobby pins. That’s it.

Photo on 2-5-15 at 11.21 AM

Step one is to create the volume on top of the head – or the “bump” as some call it. All I do is take the front portion of my hair where bangs would be if I had them, and twist it a few times, to keep it all together.

Photo on 2-5-15 at 11.23 AM

Once you’ve got it twisted, place it on your head wherever you think it looks best. If you prefer a flatter “bump,” then you would place it farther back on your head. I like the look of a bit of a medium-high bump, so this is where I decided to place mine today.

Photo on 2-5-15 at 11.31 AM

Once you’ve played around with it to get the height you want, (don’t worry, you can change it up later!) then you place two bobby pins in an X where you’ve decided the bump should go, just to keep it secure.

Photo on 2-5-15 at 11.32 AM #2

And now, the “hard part” is done! All you do next is place your hair in a high ponytail.

Photo on 2-5-15 at 11.33 AM

Smooth out what you need, and feel free to add any bobby pins to the back, under the ponytail if you have little baby hairs like me.

Once you’ve secured your ponytail, you can actually push up on the ponytail to create more volume. Just make sure to pull your hair tight so that it stays relatively where you’d like it to.

Photo on 2-5-15 at 11.33 AM #2

And that is it! Play around with the slickness or messiness that you desire. Change up the volume, or even add some braids or cute bows as accessories. This is a great base style for if you want to do a classic pony, but with a twist.

Photo on 2-5-15 at 11.34 AM

Thanks, as always, for stopping by. I’m always looking for new hairstyles to try in this Florida humidity, so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Until next time! ❀

2 thoughts on “My go-to rainy-day ponytail

Leave a Reply

