Hakuna Matata!

I’ve spent the entire weekend sick in bed with what I can only describe is an allergy-cold-from-the-depths-of-hell. (Can you tell I don’t handle being sick very well?) Ha. Instead of spending this second sick day mindlessly watching Netflix and feeling all woe-is-me, I decided to at least get a blog post written so I’d feel like I wasn’t completely wasting my time.

Some of you might know that I’ve had a tough time these past three months since moving to Florida. Mainly due to the fact that I wasn’t working the hours I was promised and making ends meet has been a struggle to say the least. It’s been hard taking such a big demotion in order to relocate and being stuck with less-than-ideal paychecks can be a real downer.

ANYWAY! I got the most FANTASTIC phone call call on Monday, 4/6 and found out that I will be working at Disney’s Animal Kingdom starting April 26th! I’m so very excited and absolutely cannot wait to get started.

11137718_947643071947070_1182725379_n
(Photo from my Instagram)

I’m going to be a trainer at the new Creature Comforts next to Pizzafari. I’m so excited and ready to start this next chapter of my Disney journey. During my College Program I worked at Disney Quest in Downtown Disney so this will be my first experience working inside one of the parks. I can’t wait to call DAK my home for awhile and hopefully make a positive impact for guests who visit this beautiful park.

312698_1913852615669_2054645_n
(Taken by me, Sept. 2011)

One of the questions I was asked during the interview last month was, “How do you feel you contribute to the conservation and/or welfare of animals and the environment?” (Or, something like that.) I got to talk about how I became cruelty-free over the last year and a half, how my roommates and I recycle every little thing that we can, I talked about the animal charities I support and how I consider myself an animal-welfare activist. She told me that there will be plenty of opportunities for me to help out with Disney’s Wildlife Conservation Fund, which is so incredibly exciting!

So, I now have two weeks left at The Disney Store where things are picking up due to Spring Breaks and warmer weather. I’ll definitely miss the coworkers I’ve gotten to know over the past few months, but I know that this new opportunity is going to be so much better for me.

I promise to update you with all of the exciting new things as they come up. As for now, it’s back to napping. Gotta kick this sickness to the curb ASAP! Thank you for all of the support and well-wishes I’ve gotten on Instagram and Twitter. I’ve very much appreciated it.

Until next time! ❀

3 thoughts on “Hakuna Matata!

  1. lottiedoesdisney says:

    I’m so excited for you! You’re such a sweet person you deserve to be happy, and maybe I’ll get to visit you when I’m out next! πŸ™‚ x

    Like

  2. I am in absolute awe (with a hint of envy πŸ˜‰ ) that you’ll be working at Disney’s Animal Kingdom! I visited as a child and my love of all things Disney grew tenfold. I can’t wait to read about your experience working there! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

