Learning to Downsize

Since I have become one of those workaholics that works 45+ hours a week, I have found myself spending less and less time at home. So much less time, in fact, that I came home the other day, looked at my room, and instantly thought: “Wow, I have way too much stuff.”

If you’re anything like me, you might find comfort in retail therapy, or find it hard to resist a really good deal when it comes to things like clothing or beauty products. However, don’t even get me started on Disney things. Living here in Florida has truly tested my ability to pace myself and save up money instead of buying every cute thing I see related to Haunted Mansion or Figment. Thankfully, I’ve been doing a good job in that department.

Disney World Halloween Merch

Walt Disney World Halloween Merch

(Seriously, Halloween is my weakness. LOOK AT IT ALL!)

Coming home now sort of stresses me out. I am currently renting a room, and so the majority of my stuff must be inside my bedroom. If I had my own place, maybe I wouldn’t feel so cluttered, but I did take advantage of some time off recently and donated a giant garbage bag full of clothes. I mean, where the heck does it all come from!? I generally wear the same things regularly anyway, so all those things I had shoved in the back of the closet or down in the lower drawers I never got into were donated to the local Red Cross here in Orlando.

red cross box

Donating clothing and general knick-knacks always makes me feel a little better than if I were just throwing things away. First off, throwing things in the garbage seems like such a waste of perfectly good things that someone could easily find joy in. Secondly, what a horrible impact that has on our environment. I’d love to find a way to properly get rid of items that aren’t biodegradable like clothing, shoes, etc.

Does anyone know of a way to recycle clothing and other items that might be too old or worn to donate? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

As for now, it’s time to do some research on Halloween costumes since we’ve got Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party coming up and it’s my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE Magic Kingdom event! Oh, I am so excited for Halloween and Fall. Can you tell?

Until next time! ❀

Leave a Reply

