My Top 5 Favorite Holiday Movies

It’s the most wonderful time of the year! Even though it’s still 80 degrees here in Florida, I have been completely surrounding myself with Christmas music, decorating, celebrating at the parks, and just getting into the Christmas spirit as much as I can.

Surprisingly enough, though, I have not made the time to watch a single Christmas movie! This is just a crazy time here at Walt Disney World and what little free time I’ve had, I’ve been running errands and trying to be a functioning adult surviving on 4 hours of sleep a night and lots of caffeine… But I digress.

So, since it’s less than two weeks away, I’ve decided to share with you my absolute favorite Christmas movies in hopes that it will motivate me to watch them and help bring some Christmas cheer to this hot little corner of the world.

MV5BMTM1NTQ3NzQxM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNDI2MTIwMw@@._V1_SX640_SY720_

Always a classic, the stop-motion Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer from 1964 is, in my opinion, the epitome of a Christmas movie. Even though I haven’t watched this movie in a couple of years, I still can recite almost the whole thing and I still sing some of the songs and remember so much about it. The Island of Misfit Toys was always my favorite part. Oh! And the part in Santa’s Workshop when they’re making toys… and who doesn’t love Burl Ives!? While I absolutely love this movie and it is most definitely up there when it comes to Christmas movies, it’s not actually my favorite.

frosty-the-snowman-750

Speaking of older Christmas movies, how can anyone overlook the 1969 Frosty the Snowman? My favorite scenes were when they would sled down the hill on Frosty’s back or when he would march the kids through town. In fact, to this day, every single time I hear that song I cannot picture anything else other than this animated gem. I was never one for having an imaginary friend as a kid, but if I had, I would have identified so much with little Karen and her relationship with Frosty. This movie is much more sad than I remember it being as a kid, but, it does end happily as I feel most Christmas movies should.

miracle-on-34th-street-1994.20056

Miracle on 34th Street from 1994 always brings me to tears. Between Santa using ASL with the Deaf girl and the *incredibly* adorable young Mara Wilson, this movie with its message of faith and hope and love just warms my heart. It has the perfect blend of appeal to both adults and kids while making it seem like this could absolutely happen in real life. I believe in Santa, after all. Don’t you? Now, I do love the original Miracle from the 1940’s and would definitely recommend watching that one if you’re like me and grew up with this version. I believe it was because I was the right age at the time this came out that I connect with this movie so much.

Home-Alone-1-v3

Does it get any more stereotypical 1990’s than Home Alone? I cannot see this image of Macaulay Culkin and not hear that classic after-shave scene of him in front of the mirror. Oh boy, did my brother and I absolutely love this movie. Seriously, we would go around the house trying to booby trap it and catch mom or dad and while ours never worked, of course, we definitely knew we were safe should those wet bandits ever try and break into our house. We also ended up getting a Talkboy and Talkgirl, which are toys you can see in Home Alone 2 (also a great Christmas flick), and we used to create secret codes on it as if we were like Kevin. Also, seriously, who didn’t love the McCallister family home all decked out for Christmas!?

Alright, here it is! My very favorite-of-all-time Christmas movie!

Mxcposter

Muppet Christmas Carol! Muppets, Michael Caine, catchy songs, and a timeless story about selflessness, sacrifice, love, and loss. I just cannot go a single year without watching this movie. Statler and Waldorf as Marley and Marley with their hilariously catchy foreboding warning song for Scrooge, The Ghost of Christmas Present’s song, “It Feels like Christmas,” and Kermit’s “One More Sleep ’til Christmas” are always stuck in my head around this time of year. In fact, I definitely recommend you either listen to the soundtrack (it’s on YouTube!), or even better, watch this wonderful movie!

Honorable mention movies: National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation (1989), It’s a Wonderful Life (1946), White Christmas (1954), and Meet Me in St. Louis (1944).

Oh boy, now I need to have a Christmas movie marathon right away!

So, how about you? Which holiday/Christmas movies are your favorite? Or do you have certain things you have to do every year for the holidays? I’d love to find out. Since meeting so many people here at Walt Disney World, I love finding out about different traditions people have.

So, if you celebrate any holidays, I hope you enjoy your holidays and you get to spend it with those you love. I hope you have a wonderful end to 2015 and a very happy new year!

One thought on “My Top 5 Favorite Holiday Movies

Leave a Reply

