I’m a Crock Addict

Ha. Ha. Ha… It was funny, right?

So, one of my favorite Christmas gifts I got this year was my lovely Crock Pot. (Click for the exact model.)

2016-02-03 12.52.45

(Thanks, Dad!)

Ever since I got it, it has made cooking *so much easier!* My boyfriend and I got into the bad habit of buying those frozen single serving meals and eating those at work and finally, one day, I think my body was just like, “Hey! Enough of that garbage! Give me real food!” So, in an effort to eat less of the processed cheap stuff, I’ve been cooking meals at least once a week in this baby and I don’t plan on stopping any time soon!

As one could imagine, this has resulted in me spending a lot of time on Pinterest, looking up recipes that not only would be healthier alternatives to food I already love, but also food that my picky boyfriend would eat. πŸ˜‰ (Love you, Eddy!)

So, I’m here to share with you some of my favorites that we’ve made so far.

~~~~~

Crock Pot Ranch Chicken Dinner – MomsWithCrockPots

Ranch-Chicken-Potatoes-1-1024x683

This recipe is not only the easiest of everything I’ve made, but it’s also been both of our favorites! In fact, I just put it in for dinner tonight/leftovers for work. Oh, and I *always* buy the “No Sodium Added” versions of canned veggies because, holy moly, they can be so filled with sodium! I’m talking 300mg+ for JUST ONE CAN! Ugh.

2016-02-03 12.52.36

(I seriously took this picture while writing this blog post. Talk about breaking news, huh?)

This time, however, I substituted one of the two cans of green beans for corn, and left out the bacon. So simple, yet so delicious. I highly recommend it.

Slow Cooker Chicken Parmesan and Pasta – TheMagicalSlowCooker

parm-chicken-update-vertical

(Above picture from Sarah at TheMagicalSlowCooker)

Ok, so maybe this one isn’t *as* healthy, but boy was it delicious. Just like the last recipe, I always go with ingredients that have less saturated fat and less sodium than what the recipe suggests, so they’ll taste a little different, but they’re so delicious. For example, this recipe calls for a specific flavor of Ragu that had over 500mg of sodium in the can. I wasn’t comfortable with that, so Eddy and I bought a plain tomato sauce and seasoned it ourselves. Dee-licious! We also changed it up and got whole grain pasta and a lower fat cheese. Hey, every little big helps, right?

I’ve also tried making a chili which wasn’t as spicy as I normally like it, but I need to adjust the recipe because it was *way* too watery for my taste. This Texas girl loves her chili. The flavors were all very good, though, and Eddy and I both basically inhaled that back when it was “cold” for a few days here in Florida. Β (Click for the recipe from Chelsea at LifeWithMyLittles.com)

The next things I want to try are going to be breakfast recipes. I used to make a breakfast casserole in the crock pot but I can’t for the life of me find the recipe. So, it’s back to Pinterest I go, I guess. Oh!! And Paleo. I really want to start looking into paleo foods to eat. Ok, I’m inspired now. Time to go pin!

If you’re interested in any of these recipes or some of the others that I want to try, please feel free to follow me on Pinterest. I’m not on the site very often but I do love to share a good find, especially when it comes to yummy food.

I hope you enjoyed this little post about my crock pot cooking, and I would *love* if you would share with me any recipes you might know and love, or think I should try.

Until next time! ❀

5 thoughts on “I’m a Crock Addict

Leave a Reply

