Thrifting – How do I begin?

For as long as I can remember, I have wanted to be a “thrifter.” I love watching videos and reading posts about people’s thrift finds and I’ve always been jealous.

My main goal is to be able to stop supporting “fast fashion” stores with questionable labor practices and wasteful processes.

fashion-industry-impact-infographic-makes-case-for-ethical-eco-fashion-conscious-company-magazine-small(Photo from Indigenous.com See the full post about the fashion industry here.)

Some of my inspiration for wanting to thrift here lately comes from YouTubers like Thrifters Anonymous,Ā Alli Cherry and Abby Williamson. These women couldn’t be any more different but I am constantly checking in with them to see what kinds of videos they’re posting and if they can offer me some insight into the daunting task of thrifting. (Alli’s is more of an eco-friendly shopper, while Thrifters take on the task of thrifting on a budget, and Abby is just plain awesome with her fashion choices.)

I think that’s my main problem with thrifting, I’m almost scared to do it. Going into thrift stores always sounds like a wonderful, exciting idea but as soon as I am there, I get overwhelmed and anxious. I don’t know why except for maybe the fact that I’m just used to the typical organization of fast fashion/mall stores.

Anyway, I’m writing this post in hopes that I can reach the beauty/lifestyle/fashion community and see if anyone would be so kind as to offer me some advice for how to get into being comfortable with thrifting and maybe some tips on how to ease my way into it.

If you are one of those people and would like to offer me advice, I will gladly accept it! I look forward to the day where not only my beauty/skincare/health products are being purchased conscientiously, but my wardrobe as well.

 

Thanks, as always, for stopping by!

Until next time! ā¤

6 thoughts on “Thrifting – How do I begin?

  1. I’ve been thrifting since I was able to afford my own clothes, about 17 years now. A good starting point is Value Village (I think in the US it’s called Savers). It’s daunting when you first walk in, but take your time and just start looking through the racks. It’s all sorted by garment type; sleeveless shirts, pants, jeans, fitness, sweaters, etc. Pull anything that interests you and when you’ve got all you can carry find a mirror and sort through it. If you don’t want something you can just leave it on a rack or give it to staff by the fitting rooms. The volume of items at vv usually means there is something for everyone, and even if you just find one thing you really like it’s a success! Have fun!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your advice. I think my problem is not giving myself enough time when I’m there. I get frustrated too easily when I can’t find anything, but you’re right. The variety means there’s something for everyone.
      I can’t wait to apply your advice to my next trip. Thank you again!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Oh! Thank you so much! I can’t wait to read all about it. Thank you for letting me know.
      And yes, I feel less and less happy about the typical fashion industry nowadays with all of the horrible stories you hear. The child labor, harmful working conditions, the unlivable wages, etc. just disgust me and I don’t want to support that.
      It’s so easy to think that way now that I don’t support companies who test on animals. I want to support companies that align more with my beliefs and passions, rather than going with what’s convenient.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s great to hear from someone who also find these situations as issues as well! I’m also against on animal testing. Whenever I walk past L’Oreal I usually think of the poor animals being tested :–(

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

