Eating Cruelty-Free: My first steps

As some of you know, last week I publicly declared that I wanted to start adding eating cruelty-free to my list of goals. The reason I decided to proclaim this so early is because I have hopes that not only will it keep me accountable and I’ll be less likely to give up, but I also want to ask for help and receive any guidance others are willing to give me along the way. I’d love anyone to help me out and share their experiences with their journey so that I might learn from them and I’m not just jumping into this blindly.

Ever since that post I’ve been spending any and all free moments doing research on how to begin a more plant-based diet. Thanks to the heaven that is Pinterest, I’ve learned a lot about vegan alternatives to things like meat and eggs, which stores stock a large section of vegan groceries, and how to healthily switch over from being an omnivore, to being more of an herbivore.

Capture
(The start of one of my inspiration board. Feel free to follow me if you’d like!)

I’d like to use my blog as a way to help document for myself the steps I’m taking on this journey so that I can look back on them and see where I’ve been, what mistakes or discoveries I’ve made, and hopefully the improvement that I’ve made along the way.

So, I’m going to start listing the things I’m doing each week or so to help improve my lifestyle and educate myself on how to go about this journey.

  • Shopping:
    -Simply Balanced organic smoothies from Target
    -Simply Balanced organic, unsweetened almond milk from Target (The same milk I always buy)
    -V8 Black Cherry Energy drink (Though, now I’m researching and no one knows if it’s vegan or not…? Any ideas?)
    -Gevalia Iced Coffee with Almond Milk from Target
    -Sweet Earth vegan breakfast burritos from Target
    -Earth Balance vegan butter from Publix
    -Grab-and-go fruit & veggie salads from Publix
    -Canned veggies from Publix
    – Potatoes from Publix (for a yummy vegan breakfast recipe I found)

I’m sure there were more things, but those are the ones I remember right now. I plan on doing more research and maybe hitting up a Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods when I get the chance. I’m just worried about the prices at those stores. I’m a Target card holder and I *LOVE* their Cartwheel app so I’m used to getting good deals when I go there. But, I guess it’s just like any other store and I’ll need to do my research before I go.

Next on my list of goals is to find a farmer’s market in my area! I’m saving that for when I have a list of recipes under my belt that I know I can shop for there. All in good time, though.

Anyway, if you are still reading this, then I truly appreciate you and your willingness to sit through all of that “me, me, and me” chatter. I’m just happy knowing that my choices I make on a daily basis are not only becoming healthier, but are more ethically responsible as well. You’re only here for a short time on this Earth, so why not make sure your impact is one of positivity and growth rather than destruction?

1310574258_md(Image from WVU.com)

As always, thank you so much for stopping by.

Until next time! ❤

(P.S. Today’s featured image & quote comes from fellow blogger leigh54. Check out the awesome quotes and images over there!)

 

Leave a Reply

