My Inspirations

For those of you who follow me on Instagram, you may have seen that this past weekend, I was able to see an old college friend of mine in a show here in Texas.

Capture.PNG

Joseph was always an amazingly talented performer and we all knew he would go far and be successful. He’s now moved to New York City to become a working actor and I could not be more proud.

Feel free to read my original Instagram post here where I gushed about Joseph, but I wanted to talk a little bit today about inspiration. I use this term a lot as I work in the creative industry of Theatre, and it’s also a term I tend to struggle with. There are days where I find myself confusing inspiration with motivation. To me, inspiration is more passive, internal; while motivation is more active and creates physical results. However, I’m starting to realize that that’s not necessarily true for either!

I can find inspiration in a song, a piece of artwork, or a play. Those types of inspiration are fairly typical and common. Going to a museum or listening to a complex, beautiful piece of classical music can very easily inspire people. However, as I grow older, I seem to be finding inspiration more so in people – particularly the people I have in my life.

183774-robin-s-sharma-quote-unsuccessful-people-get-jealous-when-they

When I see my friends and loved ones doing well, being happy, the feeling that overcomes me is almost indescribable. I felt myself beaming with pride and enjoyment for almost the entire play as Joseph worked his magic on stage. He was electric, magnetic, and an absolutely delight. I thought to myself, “He and I started in the same spot. We both went through the same program and received the same degree. Look where he is now!” He inspired and motivated me to work hard and make it my goal to be in a place where I can say that I am doing what I love for my job.

My Theatre friends are not the only friends who inspire me. I have a friend who rescues dogs, one who volunteers for countless charities and special events, and even one who has battled multiple diseases only to crush every single one of them. How great is it to have happy, successful friends? I am so proud to know these people and if ever I feel down, I always want to remember, anything is possible with enough hard work and dedication.

What inspires you? Where do you look when you need a motivational pick-me-up? I’d love to hear your answers.

Until next time! ❤

Leave a Reply

