NaNoWriMo Day #1 – Sick in bed

I’m sitting here in bed, approximately 12:45pm my time and until I started writing this blog post, I hadn’t written a single word. I should be well on my way to my goal of ~ 2000 words for today, but my body decided to rebel against the first day of NaNo. I have had a total of about 2 hours of sleep and am currently battling what feels like a really bad cold and sore throat.

tee-1740871_960_720

I hate taking antibiotics because they’re scary sometimes, so I’m fighting this with tea, essential oils, and what cold medicine I do have in my cabinet. Does anyone have any recommendations for natural ways to soothe a sore throat or get rid of sinus congestion? I’m all for it. I’ve been using peppermint and it seems to be helping with some of it, but it hasn’t helped the burning, sore throat. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

The words are jumbling together because my eyes are crossing. Lack of sleep and some decongestantΒ makes for foggy brain and that’s not super conducive to writing, let me tell you.

But, as I said before, I am counting every word that I write this month towards my NaNo goal. Not just one work, but my blog, poems, songs, etc. as well. So, this is a start. I’m hoping after some food and more tea I can sit down and at least write some things regarding a story I have bouncing around in my head. I’d like to get it out so it stops bugging me and can become a more fleshed out thing.

How about you? I hope your first day of NaNoWriMo is going much better than mine. Are you hitting any roadblocks yet or are you just flying through? I’ve been following the official NaNo Twitter and some of the coachings have been helpful, especially since I’m a NaNo newbie. I recommend it if you haven’t checked it out it already.

As for now, it’s time to nurture this cold (hopefully not strep!) and get back to healing.

Happy NaNo-ing!

Until next time! ❀

Current word count: 345

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day #1 – Sick in bed

  1. Oh and the other thing would be vicks vapour rub…or olbas oil to inhale x vicky you can put on your skin to help breathe. Again not sure this are avaliable USA side but hopefully names will allow you to find something similar x

    Like

    • I’m actually very familiar with these! Seeing as whiskey is pretty popular here in Texas, I’m no stranger to a hot toddy. Boy, it burns but it seems to do the trick.
      Thanks for the suggestions!

      Like

Leave a Reply

